Dear 2008,

It’s time for you to go. I have packed your bags and called you a cab, which will arrive promptly at midnight.

You have the dubious distinction of being the first year I have ever been happy to see go. Don’t look at me like that, you know exactly why I want you gone!

2008, you have managed to rain foul smelling shit down from heavens for almost a full12 months. You have taken two beloved family pets, an adored grandfather, a baby, a dream job, our savings and a home from us. The family drama you delivered was movie quality and devastating. Let’s not forget the great hemorrhage of  Thanksgiving. You shook our faith, our confidence and unleashed torrents of tears, anger and heartache. I could go on and on.

You were awful.

In fact, you will probably live in infamy. Some grandparents tell stories, to complaining children, about walking through the snow, up hill, both ways! S and I, we will tell the story of 2008.

Don’t look so sad, I know you were just doing your job.

I suppose, to be fair, I should say something nice. Ummm. Okay, well, you did teach me an awful lot about staying strong. You showed me that I could bounce back from the lowest of lows. You showed S and I how important the power of love really is. You helped me find my way out of bed and into the shower just in time to save my sanity. I will never forget any of these lessons, I promise.

It’s time for you to take your leave. The bright yellow sunlight that will be 2009 is waiting to take center stage.

Goodbye 2008, you will be gone but never, ever forgotten.


