I want to thank all of you for your wonderful words of encouragement, support and congratulations. I cannot tell you how happy you made me. You also gave me some great advice! I have started checking out some of the sites you mentioned.

I will confess that you planted a dangerous thought in my mind. The registry. S and I would never, ever start a registry for a foster child, it would feel way too weird, for us anyway. Hello, please buy us stuff for a child who may never come to live here. Oy.

But,  I will admit that the fun of choosing all those wonderful clothes, gadgets and things sounded wonderful to me. It did occur to me that we may never have a  chance to register for our own child. We might never have that experience. I was suddenly really, really sad. However, thanks to the miracle of the internet, I was able to have that experience, even if I felt like a big freaking  fraud doing it. Please don’t think I am nuts, I just felt like I had to do it.

I went to a website and made a nifty little  faux registry. I told myself it was a “shopping list” not a registry so I didn’t feel so loserish. I had a lot of fun, got a taste of baby registering and only teared up once or twice. I did tell S about it and she, surprisingly, didn’t think I was nuts. She did chuckle a bit though.

I guess you could say it was therapeutic. My apologies to a certain store for wasting valuable space on their site all so I could feel like a  real mom for a few minutes.

Thank you again for being such amazing women. You are always in my thoughts and prayers.